Testimonials


Claude & Uli’s was selected for the Culture Trip Bluffton Local Favorites 2016 Award.

Click here to learn more….

Testimonials from our customers….

“Neighborhood fine dining at it’s best”
This was our second visit here and once again we enjoyed a spectacular meal. We were four couples who enjoy each other’s company along with good food. We all decided to go off the early bird price fixe menu ($22.50 pp) which they offer all evening on Tuesdays. My chicken linguini was so good – moist and flavorful. My husband’s beef bourguignon pleased him immensely. The rest of our group ordered the fish of the day which was trout – it looked amazing! Every plate was empty so I’m pretty sure we were all very satisfied. Our dessert choices were bread pudding (my choice – excellent!), creme caramel flan and Grand Marnier soufflé . Many sighs of ecstasy. Our hosts are so gracious, both Claude and Uli stopped at our table to see if we were satisfied. This is such a special little restaurant and very popular – be sure to make a reservation.
Bunny Yoop-  Bluffton, SC Visited February 21, 2018

 

“So what does an “excellent” rating mean?”

We had a terrific meal at Claude and Uli’s.
Oysters were delicious. Caesar salad was good — though I would have preferred far less anchovy paste. Weiner Schitzel and Veal Normandy outstanding — so glad we took waiter’s recommendation to order these specialties of the house.
The very nice French wine was reasonably priced. Grand Marnier Souffle with vanilla sauce was a real treat.

Finny provided outstanding service.Both Uli and Claude were very interested in making sure we had a wonderful meal.

Claude and Uli’s is an excellent restaurant because of all these things. It reminded me of a neighborhood Italian restaurant — food is great but doesn’t look like the food pictured in Bon Appetit. If you are looking for fancy schmancy French cuisine, pretty sure this is not a fit, but if you are looking for a delicous meal in a welcoming setting, do not hesitate.

Some other reviews mentioned high prices. Given the setting, perhaps folks might expect prices to be lower, but if you understand what qualtiy ingredients and traditional preparation costs, Claude and Uli is reasonably priced. Oh and they do have an early bird menu…

Former NJ Resident- Raleigh, NC Visited Feb 18, 2018

 

“Oooh la la”

Lovely little restaurant with great service and friendly staff. Daily fish specials are always beautifully prepared and sauced with a light touch. A bit of France in the Low Country.

 Mary S.- South Carolina Visited February 7, 2018

 

“Excellent.”

My wife had been here before for lunch but it was my first time here and it is probably in my top five restaurants in the area. Very nice dinner with great service. A must if you are in the area. I will return before I head north again.

Bill & Suzanne Albaugh- Ohio Visited January 26, 2018

“Amazing”
Our dinner was nothing short of amazing. The food and service was excellent!
Morgan Rakar Brooks- Charleston, SC Visited January 14, 2018
Warm and cozy!

We ducked into Claude and Uli’s last evening for a cozy dinner for two in the lounge area. My salmon provencale with veggies was cooked to perfection and delicious! My husband’s seafood over homemade pasta was perfect! The atmosphere was relaxed and intimate…we could actually enjoy good conversation! Every meal we have had there has been a pleasure! Don’t miss this gem in Bluffton!

Candice S.-Pennsylvania Visited January 2017

 

Lunch with friends over Christmas

Great Lunch and conversation with friends who were visiting HHI from out of town and had never eaten at Claude and Uli’s.

Christmas dinner, amazing!

I had to work Christmas Day and Claude and Uli’s were one of the only restaurants open that day. We did not have reservations and wore jeans, having never been there. They were so accommodating finding a table and I apologized for the jeans and Uli said I looked beautiful the way we were! Such a delightful Christmas surprise. Wonderful food and service. Can’t wait to go again; we’ll dress up the next time!

Lynn D.- Visited December 2016
Wonderful Christmas Eve Dinner!
My wife and I decided to go to Claude and Uli’s for Christmas Eve Dinner and we were very happy we did. Despite the restaurant being very busy, we were seated fairly quickly and most impressed with how quickly we got our meals. The seafood pasta that my wife ordered was delicious and the grouper that I ordered was the best I have ever had! Many thanks to the entire staff at Claude and Uli’s for making this a special evening. We will be back!!!
G. Robbs- Hilton Head Island- Visited December 2016
“Why did it take me so long to come here?!”
What a local gem! We arrived and we’re seated in the bar per our request. The wonderfully friendly Angel was our server and she took excellent care of us. The wine list is small but well curated so it was easy to make selections.

We started out with the oysters Rockefeller which were delicious. Not the usual, saucy and rich preparation but a lighter style with fresh spinach and a hint of Pernod, the stars are the oysters and while we had 6, we could have easily eaten a dozen. I would go back just to have these again.

We then shared the pate and it was very good, served classically with toast points and cornichon. This would be great for lunch.

Last was the cheese soufflé which is outstanding and paired with a grilled romaine heart. The soufflé was a perfect consistency and each savory bite was enjoyed. The dressing on the salad had a little sweetness which was a good balance to the soufflé.

We hadn’t planned on dessert but Angel treated us to the dessert soufflé. It was light, sweet and a great end to a really delicious dinner. I will go back very soon. It’s great when a restaurant has been open for as long as Claude and Uli’s and is still serving thoughtfully prepared food and taking care of their customers with friendliness and warmth.

Thanksgiving dinner

I’m a finicky eater and really don’t care for French food anywhere. So even though my family lives on Hilton Head, I had never been here before Thanksgiving day. However, they were offering traditional Thanksgiving fare, so my family and I went for dinner. It was great! Nicely decorated, cozy without feeling cramped. Amanda, our waitress, was very nice and helpful, and we all enjoyed our food. I have to say that, there are plenty of places to eat in or near Hilton Head. The fact that my family has been back to this restaurant on more than one occasion speaks to the quality of the food and service. If they didn’t like it, they wouldn’t keep coming back!

Kim Elizabeth, Daytona Beach, FLA: Visited November 2016

 

 

EXCELLENT 5 of 5 bubbles

This is a a GREAT restaurant. The food was very good and the staff went above and beyond to make sure our experience was perfect. There are specials as well as early bird prices. The menu offers many choices.

Bobbie U, Las Vegas, NV- Visited October 2016